How about a Web5 wiki?

Some people have mentioned on the Discord that a central repository of specs/documentation would probably be pretty useful, since current information about this project is currently scattered across multiple pages on the Web5 site and various RFC’s that the W3C has uploaded to GitHub.

I feel like a wiki would be the ideal format both for surface-level explanations of what exactly Web5 is (for the non-technical/curious journalists/potential users, etc.) and also would be the quickest way to scaffold robust documentation for the official implementations, especially as they evolve. (Arch, for example, started a wiki to keep track of installation tips and it’s now one of the gold standards for Linux documentation.)

I’d be happy to help host; I have some experience with MediaWiki, which is what they use to host Wikipedia. It’s a much better way to keep track of accrued knowledge than having to grep through forums or Discord archives, plus it’s really cool to say that your project has an active wiki. We could host it on wiki.tbd.website! :smiley:

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

3 Likes

Love the initiative. Docs and examples are going to be the things most influential in driving us forward!

A little about what’s coming - and I’m curious how you (and others!) think this may help along the lines you’re mentioning.

Our developer site at developer.tbd.website is equipped to pull Markdown content from external repos. We set it up this way so we’d always have the option of giving both project leads and community members a place to propose docs to be surfaced on the site, all backed by PRs just as a code contribution is.

As we build out the content program for Web5, does it seem like adding material in Markdown and publishing on the developer site in this fashion gets the job done? Something I like about this model: anyone can propose docs/examples contributions, and we still get verification from project leads via the PRs before publishing.